Transitioning to Atlanta (Adventures at the High Museum of Art)

My husband and I have been in Atlanta for two weeks and I’m happy to say that I’m starting to feel a bit more at home in our new place. (Pictures to come in next post) This time around our move wasn’t so bad; when moving for grad school we actually lived out of a motel for a few weeks until we found a place. Having a condo ready and waiting in a prime location with plenty of space, windows, and  a landlord who’s partial to cats was essential in easing the pains of leaving such a beloved location.

In an effort to become better acclimated Ryan and I have been venturing out into the city using the really efficient and easy rail system, visiting Centennial Olympic Park for the fireworks display on the 4th as well as the High Museum of Art on our 12 year anniversary.

The High was a really great experience. I snapped lots of details of odd random things as well as tags of well-known works in the collection for reference in my upcoming Arts Appreciation courses this fall at Georgia Perimeter College where I will start teaching.

The following are some examples of works I found inspirational or simply curious.

Jan Van Kessel, insect study detail, 1659, oil on copper
Thomas Moran, Fingal’s Cave, detail, 1884, oil on canvas
Fragonard, Bradamonte at Merlin’s Tomb, detail, 1820, oil on canvas

I was previously unaware that Fragonard had this in him… at all…

Elihu Vedder, Memory (Girl with Poppies), detail, 1877

Eep! The spider web spanning across the poppy heads… sigh… how beautiful…

American Fireplace Surround, detail, c. 1950-60
Jongorius, Nymphenburg Sketch (Animal Bowl), 1963

And by far, my most favorite personal discovery is Dragon by Anselm Keifer… it is… magnificent… when you stand directly in front of the work it envelops all of your senses – in true Keifer fashion it is pure alchemy of the mind. The texture of the surface is magnified by the looming nature of the scale. The top half raises unnaturally above the physical surface of the work despite the visually greater surface depth of the bottom portion creating an odd feeling of imbalance and anxiety – as though the expanse of the sky will devour you like a dragon. Blown. Away. (I majorly heart Keifer anyway but this… wow!)

Anselm Keifer, Dragon, 2000

And I dig the little art student with the cute bow gazing up at the piece too…  I can’t wait to take my own students here this fall.

Leave a comment